COME TOGETHER TO CREATE EUROPE

EUROPEAN ACADEMY OF OTZENHAUSEN

European capacity is the buzzword of the programme offered by this European training centre in the border triangle between Germany, Luxembourg and France. The goal of its seminars, meetings and conferences is to enable constructive critical action on a solid information base in, with and for Europe. It welcomes more than 9,000 visitors per year from Europe and across all four corners of the globe, meaning that ‘come together to create Europe’ is more than just a motto – it is also the reality of life at the European Academy of Otzenhausen. Core elements of educational programme include intercultural seminars in conjunction with the German-French Youth Organisation (DFJW), binational and multinational seminars with partners from across Europe, and events organised by the Institute of Rhetoric and Communication. In addition, a wide variety of events are offered for cooperation partners and interested parties with information individually formulated for each target group and analyses of current political events and developments on a regional, national, European and international level. All events at the European Academy of Otzenhausen are open to interested visitors. This European training centre is involved in the ‘Partners for Europe’ association.

IN EUROPE’S MODEL SAARLORLUX REGION

CONFERENCES AT THE HEART OF EUROPE

The European Academy of Otzenhausen is located in the St Wendel district at the heart of Europe’s model SaarLorLux region and near to the European capitals of Luxembourg, Strasbourg and Brussels. With its extensive and attractively designed outdoor grounds, it stands in a very peaceful location on the forest edge just to the south of Saar-Hunsrück Nature Park. This European training centre is available to companies, associations, ministries and more as a conference hotel for holding conventions and workshops as well as office parties, corporate events and works outings. With its exceptional gastronomy and select wine cellar, it is also an attractive venue for private celebrations and festivities. A total of 95 beds are available across 66 modern guest rooms. The 18 conference rooms (four of which are equipped with simultaneous interpretation equipment for up to five languages) offer impressive state-of-the-art seminar technology and flexible room design. A generous lobby, a specialist library, three restaurants, a bistro, a lounge and a large number of free parking spaces complete the services offered.

THE NORTHERNMOST PART OF SAARLAND

THE COMMUNITY OF NONNWEILER

The community of Nonnweiler is the northernmost community in Saarland, halfway between Trier, Saarbrücken and Kaiserslautern. Unspoiled nature, charming landscapes and a healthy climate are characteristic of this region in the Hunsrück-Hochwald National Park, which has plenty of attractions to offer tourists: Braunshausen, for example, has what is probably the most beautiful summer toboggan run in southwest Germany – the 1,000 metre descent runs through one of Saarland’s most attractive landscapes. Visitors to Otzenhausen can marvel at the Celtic ring wall, one of the most spectacular Celtic fortifications in Europe. Built in the first century BC, ten-metre-high walls still bear witness to the monumental memorial. At the foot of the Celtic ring wall now stands the Otzenhausen Celtic Park, containing an outdoor stage and a Celtic village which was opened in 2016. The Nonnweiler reservoir – a popular destination for cyclists, hikers and nature enthusiasts with a 12.8 km circular trail – is also worth a visit. Other popular destinations include the Peterberg Observatory with its two fully-fledged observation domes, and the historic nail smithy, probably the most traditional Hochwald trade.

Europa entsteht durch Begegnung

Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen

Europäische Handlungskompetenz ist das Schlüsselwort des Bildungsangebotes des europäischen Bildungszentrums im Dreiländereck zwischen Deutschland, Luxemburg und Frankreich. Auf einer guten Informationsbasis in Europa, mit Europa und für Europa konstruktiv kritisch zu handeln ist die Zielsetzung der Seminare, Begegnungen und Konferenzen. Jährlich können mehr als 9.000 Gäste aus Europa und allen Teilen der Welt begrüßt werden. „Europa entsteht durch Begegnung“ ist deshalb nicht nur das Motto, sondern gelebte Realität an der Europäischen Akademie Otzenhausen. Kernelemente des Bildungsangebotes sind interkulturelle Seminare in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk, bi- und multinationale Seminare mit Partnern aus ganz Europa und die Veranstaltungen des Instituts für Rhetorik und Methodik. Darüber werden eine Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen für Kooperationspartner und Interessierte mit zielgruppenspezifisch aufbereiteten Informationen und Analysen zu aktuellen politischen Ereignissen und Entwicklungen auf regionaler, nationaler und europäischer sowie internationaler Ebene angeboten. Viele Veranstaltungen der Europäischen Akademie Otzenhausen sind für Interessenten zugänglich. Die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen ist Mitglied im Verbund  „Partner für Europa“.

Inmitten Europas Modellregion SaarLorLux

Konferenzen im Herzen Europas

Die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen befindet sich im Sankt Wendeler Land, inmitten der europäischen Modellregion SaarLorLux und nahe den europäischen Hauptstädten Luxemburg, Straßburg und Brüssel. Mit ihrem schön gestalteten, weitläufigen Außengelände liegt sie sehr ruhig direkt am Waldrand, am Südrand des Naturparks Saar-Hunsrück. Das europäische Bildungszentrum steht u.a. Unternehmen, Verbänden, Ministerien als Tagungshotel zur Durchführung von Konferenzen und Workshops sowie von Betriebsfeiern, Firmenevents und Betriebsausflügen zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus ist sie ein ansprechender Ort mit hervorragender Gastronomie und erlesenem Weinkeller, um im privaten Kreis Jubiläen und Feste zu begehen. Insgesamt stehen in 66 modernen Gästezimmern 95 Betten zur Verfügung. Die 18 Tagungsräume (davon vier mit Simultandolmetschanlage für bis zu fünf Sprachen) überzeugen mit modernster Seminartechnik und Flexibilität in der Raumgestaltung. Ein großzügiges Foyers, eine Fachbibliothek, drei Restaurants, ein Bistro, Aufenthaltsraum und eine große Anzahl kostenloser Parkplätze runden das Angebot ab.

Im nördlichsten Teil des Saarlandes

Die Gemeinde Nonnweiler

Die Gemeinde Nonnweiler ist die nördlichste Gemeinde des Saarlandes. Sie liegt auf „halber Strecke“ zwischen Trier, Saarbrücken und Kaiserslautern. Eine intakte Natur, reizvolle Landschaften und ein gesundes Heilklima sind charakteristisch für die im Nationalpark Hunsrück-Hochwald gelegene Region, die mit zahlreichen Attraktionen für Touristen aufzuwarten weiß: In Braunshausen erwartet Sie eine der wohl schönsten Sommerrodelbahnanlagen im Südwesten Deutschlands. Die 1.000 Meter lange Abfahrt führt durch eine der schönsten Landschaften des Saarlandes. In Otzenhausen ist der Keltische Ringwall zu bestaunen, eine der eindrucksvollsten keltischen Befestigungsanlagen in Europa. Erbaut im ersten Jahrhundert vor Christus zeugen noch heute zehn Meter hohe Mauern von dem monumentalen Denkmal. Am Fuße des Keltischen Ringwalls entsteht aktuell  der Keltenpark Otzenhausen, der derzeit aus einer Naturbühne sowie einem im Jahr 2016 eröffneten Keltendorf besteht. Erwähnenswert sind auch die Talsperre Nonnweiler, die mit ihrem 12,8 km langen Rundwanderweg ein beliebtes Ziel für Radfahrer, Wanderer und Naturfreunde ist. Weiterhin die Sternwarte Peterberg mit zwei vollwertigen Beobachtungskuppeln sowie die historische Nagelschmiede, dem wohl traditionsreichsten Handwerk im Hochwald.