9th Europrofession Forum | 5 November 2003

Value creation and staff development in trade

Value creation and staff development in trade (a vital combination) and the promising topic of meaningful use and deployment of human capital formed the bedrock of the Europrofession Forum on 5 November 2003 in Otzenhausen. Focusing on the ‘status of staff development in the context of the current economic situation in the retail trade’, presentations offering a current stocktake in perspective were given by trade experts from:

  • Multi-branch trade
  • Specialist retail trade
  • Cooperative group trade

Representatives of companies such as Douglas, engelhorn and E/D/E presented examples of their staff development concepts, the success of which is based on harmonising corporate culture, corporate objectives and employee goals.

Wilfried Malcher representing the HDE (central association of the German retail trade) tackled the topic from an employer’s perspective in the context of rapid structural change in retail, changing qualification requirements of education and further training, and new occupational profiles.

Taking a scientific but very vivid approach drawing on current labour market conditions and numerous examples from research and practice, the keynote speech by Prof. Dr. Christian Scholz of Saarland University examined value creation and staff development. He also moderated the panel discussion that closed the event, giving experts and participants an opportunity to examine the day’s topic and contributions in detail one more time.

The program overview.

9. Forum-Europrofession | 05. November 2003

Wertschöpfung und Personalentwicklung im Handel

Wertschöpfung und Personalentwicklung im Handel, eine zwingende Kombination, sinnvolle Nutzung und Einsatz von Humankapital ein zukunftsträchtiges Thema – so der Tenor des Forums Europrofession das am 5. November 2003 in Otzenhausen stattfand. Unter dem Fokus „Status der Personalentwicklung vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen wirtschaftlichen Situation des Einzelhandels“ präsentierte sich der Handel mit Experten aus dem

  • Filialhandel
  • Facheinzelhandel und
  • Verbundgruppenhandel

in einer aktuellen und perspektivischen Bestandsaufnahme. Vertreter/in von Unternehmen, wie Douglas, engelhorn und E/D/E, stellten beispielhaft ihre Personalentwicklungskonzepte vor, deren Erfolg im Einklang von Unternehmenskultur, Unternehmenszielen und den Zielen der Mitarbeiter begründet ist.

Der Vertreter der Hauptgemeinschaft des Deutschen Einzelhandels – Wilfried Malcher – erörterte das Thema aus Sicht der Arbeitgeber vor dem Hintergrund eines raschen Strukturwandels im Einzelhandel, veränderten Qualifikationsanforderungen in Aus- und Weiterbildung und neuen Berufsbildern.

Wissenschaftlich, aber sehr anschaulich, unter Heranziehung aktueller Arbeitsmarktgegebenheiten und vielen Beispielen aus Forschung und Praxis, beschäftigte sich Prof. Dr. Christian Scholz von der Universität des Saarlandes mit Wertschöpfung und Personalentwicklung in seinem Grundsatzreferat. Unter seiner Moderation stand auch die Podiumsdiskussion zum Abschluss der Veranstaltung. Sie bot Experten und Teilnehmern Gelegenheit, das Thema und die Beiträge des Tages noch einmal zu vertiefen.

Hier finden Sie die Programmübersicht.