14th Europrofession Forum | 18 to 19 November 2008

Trade and sustainability

As part of efforts to also root the topic of ‘sustainability’ in the world of trade (as an intermediary between manufacturers and consumers), the Europrofession Foundation invited selected experts to discuss:

  • The objectives and current development of the ‘Encouraging Sustainability’ project
  • Requirements of global economic development
  • Models and projects in the fields of:
    • Staff management
    • Procurement and logistics
    • Marketing and sales
  • Opportunities arising from the global coordination of activities

The path to sustainable development and an awareness of how to treat our planet responsibly can only be forged with information and education.

The Europrofession Foundation’s motivation behind its commitment to the ‘Encouraging Sustainability’ project is based on its statutory mandate to ‘promote professional training’. The opportunity to use the Europrofession Forum to open up target groups which its cooperation partners cannot immediately access under the ‘Encouraging Sustainability’ initiative was a key element in the decision to make ‘Trade and sustainability’ the topic for the Europrofession Forum on 18 and 19 November 2008. Scientists and practitioners from trade companies and trade-related organisations were invited to present their observations, recommendations and specific activities in this area.
Trade’s role as an ‘intermediary’ between manufacturers and consumers means that it has a particular responsibility which it must foreseeably accept with regard to the need for greater sustainability. Given this, ‘trade and sustainability’ cannot and should not be viewed as a question. Instead, it should become an obligation for all players in the trade industry.

Klaus Wiegandt, the former spokesman for the METRO AG management board, attended the kick-off meeting on 18 November. As founder and chair of the ‘Forum für Verantwortung’ foundation, Klaus Wiegandt is the instigator of and driving force behind the ‘Encouraging Sustainability’ project. In his presentation he spoke about the development of the initiative, which was born at the ‘The future of the earth – how much more can our planet withstand?’ colloquium organised by his foundation in 2005, and the resulting book series on the ‘Future of the earth’.

To launch the forum on 19 November, Prof. Dr. Bernd Meyer of Osnabrück University presented his thoughts on the topic ‘How should industry be transformed?’. His words demonstrated the radical nature of the changes required if we are still to be living on this earth in suitable conditions in 30 years’ time.

In other presentations, Prof. Dr. Christian Scholz (Saarland University), Wolfgang Garden (hagebau, Soltau) and Dr. Sibyl Anwander Phan-Huy (Coop Switzerland) offered examples of concrete steps that have already been implemented or that will be needed in the future to increase sustainability in trade. Prof. Dr. Bernd Hallier (EHI EuroHandelsinstitut, Cologne) gave a speech highlighting the need for ‘global monitoring’ of activities to improve sustainability in trade. Dr. Kristian Möller (Foodplus Cologne) and Leif Barthel (University of Stuttgart) presented practical examples from the agricultural and packaging industries.

To summarise, it should be noted that on the one hand we most likely already have and understand all the key scientific information on the need for radical behavioural changes in industry and society, but on the other there is some way to go (hopefully a viable way) to achieve its acceptance and implementation. The fact that representatives from trade were able to report on their companies’ specific activities as regards sustainability is a cause for hope.

The program overview.

14. Forum-Europrofession | 18.bis 19. November 2008

Handel und Nachhaltigkeit

Im Zuge des Bestrebens, das Thema „Nachhaltigkeit“ auch im Handel (als Mittler zwischen Hersteller und Verbraucher) zu verankern, hatte die Stiftung Europrofession dazu eingeladen, mit ausgewählten Experten über

  • Ziele und Entwicklungsstand der Initiative „Mut zur Nachhaltigkeit“
  • Anforderungen an die globale Wirtschaftsentwicklung
  • Modelle und Projekte in den Bereichen
    • Personalmanagement
    • Beschaffung und Logistik
    • Marketing und Vertrieb
  • Chancen einer globalen Koordinierung von Aktivitäten

zu diskutieren.

Der Weg in eine nachhaltige Entwicklung und die Sensibilisierung für ein verantwortungsvolles Handeln im Ungang mit unserer Erde kann nur durch Information und Bildung realisiert werden.

Die Motivation der Stiftung Europrofession zu ihrem Engagement im Rahmen des Projektes „Mut zur Nachhaltigkeit“basiert auf ihrem satzungsgemäßen Auftrag „Förderung beruflicher Bildung“. Die Möglichkeit, über das Forum Europrofession Zielgruppen zu erschließen, zu denen ihre Kooperationspartner in der Initiative „Mut zur Nachhaltigkeit“ keinen unmittelbaren Zugang haben, war mit ausschlag-gebend für die Entscheidung, das Forum Europrofession am 18. und 19. November 2008 unter das Thema „Handel und Nachhaltigkeit“ zu stellen. Wissenschaftler und Praktiker aus Handelsunternehmen und handels-nahen Organisationen waren eingeladen, ihre diesbezüglichen Über-legungen, Vorschläge und konkrete Aktivitäten vorzustellen.
Der Handel hat mit seiner „Mittlerfunktion“ zwischen Herstellern und Verbrauchern eine besondere Verantwortung, der er sich auch mit Blick auf die Forderung nach mehr Nachhaltigkeit absehbar wird stellen müssen. Vor diesem Hintergrund kann und darf „Handel und Nachhaltigkeit“ nicht als Frage verstanden werden. Vielmehr sollte daraus eine Verpflichtung für alle Akteure im Handel werden.

Für das Kick-off-Meeting am 18. November konnte Klaus Wiegandt, ehemals Sprecher des Vorstandes der METRO AG, gewonnen werden. Klaus Wiegandt ist als Stifter und Vorsitzender der Stiftung Forum für Verantwortung Schöpfer und Motor des Projektes „Mut zur Nachhaltigkeit“. Er berichtete in seinem Vortrag über die Entwicklung der Initiative, die ihren Ursprung in dem von seiner Stiftung im Jahr 2005 durchgeführten Kolloquium „Die Zukunft der Erde – Was verträgt unser Planet noch?“hatte, und die daraus entstandene Buchreihe zur „Zukunft der Erde“.

Zum Auftakt des Forums am 19. November präsentierte Prof. Dr. Bernd Meyer, Universität Osnabrück, seine Überlegungen zu dem Thema „Wie muss die Wirtschaft umgebaut werden?“. Seine Ausführungen machten deutlich, wie gravierend die Veränderungen sein müssten, um den Menschen auf dieser einen Erde auch in 30 Jahren noch lebenswerte Bedingungen zu erhalten.

In weiteren Referaten zeigten Prof. Dr. Christian Scholz, Universität des Saarlandes, Wolfgang Garden, hagebau, Soltau und Dr. Sibyl Anwander Phan-Huy, Coop Schweiz, exemplarisch auf, welche konkreten Schritte in Richtung zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Handel heute bereits gegangen werden bzw. in Zukunft notwendig sind. Prof. Dr. Bernd Hallier, EHI EuroHandelsinstitut, Köln, unterstrich in seinem Beitrag die Notwendig-keit eines „Globalen Monitorings“ der Aktivitäten für mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Handel. Dr. Kristian Möller, Foodplus Köln und Leif Barthel, Universität Stuttgart, präsentierten Praxisbeispiele aus der Agrarwirtschaft und der Verpackungsindustrie.

Als Resümee ist festzuhalten, dass einerseits wohl alle zentralen wissenschaftlichen Informationen über die Notwendigkeit gravierender Veränderungen des Verhaltens in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft vorliegen und auch verstanden wurden, es andererseits bis zu deren Akzeptanz und Umsetzung aber noch ein weiter Weg ist – hoffentlich ein gangbarer! Die Tatsache, dass Vertreter des Handels über konkrete Aktivitäten ihrer Unternehmen im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit berichten konnten, lässt hoffen.

Hier finden Sie die Programmübersicht.